Skip to content

First Impressions: K-ON! Episode 1

April 4, 2009

K-ON!

I think I’m going to love this show. It starts off with a nice series of montages of Yui rushing on the first day to school, stopping here and there bouncing up and down, helping grannys cross the road etc. She gets to school and realises that her clock was wrong and she got there one hour earlier. xD

Yui

This was more or less an introductory episode but was still rather enjoyable. Yui is your cute, clumsy airhead and has absolutely no idea of what club to join after entering high school. She’s fond of eating, doing nothing (basically procrastination) and has some really weird behaviours. E.g. Her imagination is a bit weird, but this is anime after all. xD

Group photo!

The other girls are all quite different, with one reminding me slightly of Haruhi.

Ritsu (drummer) is giving me Haruhi vibes. She’s highly energetic and a bit crazy, a little violent too but definitely should be a great character for the show. Mio (bassist) seems rather quiet and I can’t really say too much about her yet. The girl on the keyboard is Kotobuki Tsumugi. My impression of her from this episode is that she’s from a rich family of some sort; firstly for never have had fast food before and secondly, the accent and the teacups.The four girls’ personalities come together well and balance each other out.

Ritsu, Mio and Tsumugi all meet up at a fast food restaurant and try to work out how to get a fourth member (guitarist) to join so the club isn’t suspended. After putting up posters on the boards, this eventually catches Yui’s eye and she applies… with a weird memory of her kindergarden times clapping Castanets (clappers).

When she turns up to the music room, she is terrified as she has no idea how to play any instrument. Even after being bribed with cakes and tea, she’s reluctant to join. However, in a final attempt to impress her, the three play a little amateur performance to Yui which she is very impressed by. So much that she joins and the K-ON club is born!

OP & ED

Loved them both. The Opening is called “Cagayake! GIRLS” and it’s by the four seiyuu, likewise with the ED “Don’t say “lazy”“. Hearing them first time both have quite a nice rhythm and beat and sound pretty catchy.

Next week it looks like Yui is going to buy her guitar. I wonder what one she’ll get (I’m no good with guitars or brands) and will she even be able to pay for one? She said 5000 yen… but I somehow don’t think that’s going to be anywhere near enough. xD

Only one complaint from me. WHY IS IT IN 4:3 instead of 16:9??? That was the only disappointing part I found. The rest of the animation was great: from attention to facial details, to hands gestures for such Lucky Star type art, it was pretty awesome. I’m expecting quite a lot from this show and for it to be rather interestingly different. ^^

I wonder if 13 episodes will be enough.

Oh am I glad I waited for a day to watch this and not get a trollsub. I wonder who had the time to go upload all those fake trolls. xD
And yeah, this post is a bit shorter than what I had to say in total but it’s 12:40am and I should really go to bed. xD

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kairu Ishimaru permalink
    April 4, 2009 1:07 am

    This is so like Lucky Star.

  2. Karry permalink
    April 4, 2009 1:01 pm

    “WHY IS IT IN 4:3 instead of 16:9??? ”

    Fuck 16:9. So, just because you were stupid enough to buy 16:9 TV and monitor – everyone should make all their videos in 16:9 ? Fuck that.

    • April 4, 2009 1:13 pm

      Are you fucking serious? Most anime nowadays airs in 16:9. Sorry if you’re still on 4:3, but unlike you most of the world has long moved on to 16:9 LCD TVs.

      And FYI, if you read my post properly, you would have realized I downloaded a sub and not watched it on TV. Because I’d really get anime in New Zealand.

    • fangzhao permalink
      April 6, 2009 11:49 am

      Don’t forget that CLANNAD was aired in 4:3 first, then in 16:9 on the cable TV channel so that they’d get moar money. :/

      Oh, and 4:3 cuts stuff off. It’s annoying.

      • April 6, 2009 4:57 pm

        Haven’t watched Clannad yet personally, but from what I’ve heard K-ON! will probably follow suit and air 16:9 in a few weeks time.

Leave a comment