Skip to content

Student life at University

February 22, 2010
tags: ,

This is just me sharing some thoughts about student life as I’ve finally made it to university as a first year student; studying “pre-med” (as it’s called) at the University of Otago. Feel free to leave a comment~

Image002

So the summer holidays are finally over for me and I’ve moved down to Dunedin to continue climbing the next rung in the educational ladder. Although I arrived on Friday last week, there’s been absolutely no internet until now due to the fact I only went through course approval today. So that was a little disappointing, but it is slightly countered by the fact that the wireless internet here is way faster than my home connection and I’ve heard it’s a 20GB bandwidth cap per student, per month – better than the NZD$49.99 I was paying at home for a slow 10GB connection.

I'm loving this. My home one is like a quarter of this. And I'm on wireless as well right now.

The weather in the past few days has been magnificent. It has been hot and sunny every single day that I’ve been here so far and I’m pretty sure I’m sunburnt somewhere. Dunedin isn’t exactly known for its weather; asides from a reputation for being cold as it’s “in the deep south” (of New Zealand) and so the awesome weather was a pleasant surprise. It’s better than Auckland (which is like cloudy/overcast most of the time), Wellington (worst summer ever) and Christchurch (but I can’t think of a reason right now).

I was actually a little worried moving out to Dunedin as this will be the first time I’ve lived away from home by myself for an extended period of time (~38 weeks). Which is why I’m glad I’m staying in a residential college this year. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th year returners are all very nice and the other 1st year students are great too. This really helps, seeing as I only know around 4-5 people who are also coming down to study at Otago, so making all of the new friends after a few days is fantastic.

Lectures don’t start till next month, so it’s pretty relaxed here, which is definitely good. Orientation this week (which Otago is infamous for), so should be great!

If there are any Dunedin anime fans, leave a message. Or email ayanokatagiri@gmail.com
I think I saw an university anime club earlier on some website, but I can’t remember where anymore. Someone direct me there for Club day!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeanne permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:57 pm

    YES apparently there is an anime club in otago! my friends told me they saw someone cosplayed as naruto, and another one of my friend even joined!
    i am so gutted that i had work full day during then, right now am finding way to join haha

    welcome to otago!

    • February 26, 2010 2:42 am

      I went to the clubs and societies building yesterday but didn’t see anything anime related. :< I didn't really see anything there that I wanted to join actually, it was all a bit bland for me. But I'd love to join if someone cared to find me, haha.

      Thanks for the welcome!

  2. anon permalink
    March 5, 2010 11:09 pm

    There is a good anime club, the ADP, which has been running for about six years now– but the one that was actually AT Clubs & Socs. day, DCSAS or something, I advise against joining. It’s going to flop in a bad way.

    • March 6, 2010 1:35 am

      Yeah, I’ve found out about the ADP now and I was planning to go to their meeting yesterday but ended up having activities at my residential hall. The other OUSA member club is more cosplay, which I’m not really all that into anyway.

  3. May 20, 2010 9:08 pm

    wow! this uneversity really is great, by just looking at it I sense an intricate design and outstanding architecture. and i like your site too, keep it up.

Leave a comment