Skip to content

To Aru Kagaku no Railgun 01

October 3, 2009

Railgun1

Knowing that Mikoto returns today was enough to make me take a break from studying and go watch the first episode of what made To Aru Majutsu no Index worth watching in the first place. I was surprised that the subs were out that quickly (4 hours after it aired?), but a little disheartened to find out that apparently all of the raws were LQ. I think I did see something that said HD when I was writing this though. Hmm.

If you didn’t know already, To Aru Kagaku no Railgun is essentially the spin-off series to last year’s To Aru Majutsu no Index. The anime adaptation has mainly stuck true to the first chapter of the manga, whilst still giving a great introductory episode to watch. In fact, I would actually say that it was a lot more detailed than the manga. All four main characters: Misaka Mikoto, Shirai Kuroko, Uihara Kazari and Saten Ruiko were introduced to us and pretty much met each other for the first time in this episode too. Sure, there wasn’t really any plot to start with but the exciting stuff will come later. I slightly wish I hadn’t read so much of the manga already so I could enjoy this fresh now.

snapshot20091003200901

So everything starts off with Mikoto getting harassed (yet again?) by some delinquents, whom she deals with pretty easily. That wasn’t the only thing that was familiar. She kicked the vending machine again, though this time the city’s robots come looking (I swear J.C Staff just reused the same sequence!).

snapshot20091003203098

Mikoto and Kuroko were more intimate than I thought they’d be. This shows Kuroko’s true yuri side and her obsession with her “Onee-sama”, unlike last time. I thought Kuroko’s plans for her “date” was pretty funny but her actions seemed a bit too easily accepted by Mikoto.

snapshot20091003202641

Kuroko’s a great character, there’s a stark contrast in her behaviour especially when she’s working as Judgement, a group of espers in charge of peacekeeping within Academy City. She’s a lot cooler and almost, if I dare to say, sadistic. Her voice still bugs me a little, but not as much as when I heard it the first time.

OP was broadcasted as the ED, which I found kind of weird. It’s fast paced and really catchy. It’s called 「only my railgun」and it’s done by fripSide. I couldn’t help but notice that there were quite a few lines in English too. ED is by ELISA, called Dear My Friend -まだ見ぬ未来へ-. Hopefully it’ll be broadcasted next week. Next week looks really steamy too.

I really wonder how closely this will stick to the original manga material amidst some of the extra slice-of-life humour. Two of the things I certainly can’t wait to see are: a) Kuroko’s fight, because teleportation is still a damn awesome ability and b) the explanation for the Sisters Arc. I always felt the latter wasn’t in enough detail last year during Index. Considering that I’ve been waiting for this for almost 10 months, I have to say it’s lived up to my expectations for the first episode. I don’t think the number of episodes has yet to be announced yet, but I do hope it’s a full 24. Oh and I totally agree with fangzhao, this is definitely the greatest anime of all time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. fangzhao permalink
    October 4, 2009 10:14 am

    “of what made To Aru Majutsu no Index worth watching in the first place”

    I hear ya.

Leave a Reply

