Skip to content

It’s as if Christmas came early!

August 1, 2009

Newtype and figurines, I must say I’m pretty happy. So begins my collection of merchandise. :D

Yuki Mari

I’ve neglected blogging recently as the school semester resumed this week and time hasn’t been kind in allowing me a break long enough to write anything decent. Luckily for me, I was able to get my hands on two copies of Newtype (even if it was a bit late) and two figurines as my friend had just recently visited Japan during the school holidays. This really makes me want to go back and just buy a whole lot of merchandise just for fun.

Yuki1Yuki2

The Yuki figurine was one he bought for me, I had only asked for the two Newtype so it was a nice surprise. I don’t have that much money, otherwise I’d have cashed out for a Hatsune Miku figma.

Mari1Mari2

The other figurine was Mari Illustrious Makinami, who appears in Evagelion: 2.0. I have to admit, I had never heard of Mari before getting the figurine. This was the August Newtype special version which is pretty cool. It looks really well made if I do say so with my very limited knowledge with figurines. Her uniform is pretty awesome looking too. Unfortunately, July’s edition didn’t come with some as awesome. The Evagelion T-shirt was paper-thin and a size too small for me to wear. Plus, it would have looked awkward if I did wear it anyway. :\

Newtype. I hadn’t actually realised how much stuff is in an issue of one until actually opening one and reading it. I had seen Newtype and other various anime magazines before when I was overseas, but they didn’t seem that big at the time. Sadly I’m unable to understand most of it, but it’s still fun to look at the pictures. XD

K-ON1K-ON2

What I didn’t realise was how big K-ON! had gotten. Two full page spreads in both issues?? If you’ve read my past thoughts on K-ON!, then you’ll know that I did not enjoy the majority of the second half of the show – there’s only so much teatime scenes I can take.

Seitokai-can't-wait!

I really, really, really can’t wait for this show. The character design is so cute and the show does sound interesting. October is going to be a busy month!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

