Skip to content

Shakugan no Shana S [OVA]

July 8, 2009

The August issue of Kadokawa Shoten’s Newtype magazine will confirm on Friday that the new Shana anime project which was revealed last month is the Shakugan no Shana S original video anime (OVA) series. Cast members Rie Kugimiya and Satoshi Hino will reprise their roles as Shana and Yuuji, respectively.

Like the previous Shakugan no Shana anime, the new series is based on Yashichiro Takahashi and Noizi Ito’s fantasy light novels. The first volume will ship in Japan on October 23 on DVD and Blu-ray Disc. The video release will include a tentatively titled “Shakugan no Shanatan” video extra and an audio commentary track, and the first pressing will add a special sleeve illustrated by Ito. [Source]

And I was looking forward to a new season of Shana. ;_; But I guess an OVA series is better than nothing. I believe that there’s currently not enough novel material to make an entire third season – or so I’ve heard – so this is better than nothing. Hopefully this will give more time for the author to finish the series (since I heard the next volume will be the last). It’s an “OVA series”, which could mean more than one episode… but OVA series won’t be that long generally.

Synopsis:
Due to the effect of Friagne’s treasure device, the personalities of Shana and Yuuji are swapped. They try to overcome the situation secretly, but…

But what? I wonder if there’s going to be more revealed in this month’s Newtype. Too bad I won’t be getting a copy until around the 28th.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 4:19 pm

    This news is bitter-sweet. I wanted a full season, although it’s better this way because they won’t be filling a majority of the season with fillers. Although, I think that they could make some anime-only fillers that could be good. Hire me, I’ll give you a thousand different bad guys to fight, and then a full season will be easy. I mean, One Piece has full arcs that aren’t in manga (although they are usually boring).

    That author needs to get crackin. Needless to say I can’t wait till these come out.

    • July 9, 2009 3:51 pm

      I agree. It’s nice now that more news about the 3rd season has finally come out though. I really detested the fillers in SnS II, they were just horrible in my opinion. I don’t mind if it’s a lot more action and random Tomogara turning up, but the Komoe Fumina arc was just unbearable to watch.

      I think the light novels are near finishing, I’m not 100% sure since I don’t follow them (the Japanese is way too difficult for me), but I’ve read that they’re in around the last two novels before the end.

  2. April 26, 2011 11:20 am

    I’m so happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc.

Trackbacks

  1. FunBlog » Blog Archive » Shakugan no Shana S

Leave a Reply

