Skip to content

Queen’s Blade = Epic fail?

April 24, 2009

Okay, so in an attempt to watch all the spring anime I listed back when I first saw the previews, I decided to give Queen’s Blade a chance and watched the first episode. To be honest, it was more or less what I expected. Perhaps even a bit stranger than what I thought it might have been.

Thoughts

I’m confused and have slightly mixed opinions about this. The story is really based around the characters, so I wasn’t expecting much of a plot (asides from them meeting somehow and then fighting). When I last talked about this, I compared it slightly to Akasaka. Now… not so much. Sure, they have in common a very talented seiyuu cast but the rest of it drags it down. Akasaka at least had something to keep me hooked in, but this made me feel somewhat unsatisfied.

  • Voicing

Queen’s Blade certainly does have a few strong points, mainly in the form of its seiyuu cast. It has some of the top and famous seiyuu doing the dubbing and the voicing is great, as expected.
Aya Hirano’s voicing reminds me of her Misa-Misa from Death Note, which is pretty nice to hear once in awhile again.
Rie Kugimiya’s character and voice just… don’t fit together. AT ALL. I keep hearing Shana when Melona is being all angry and some random high pitched squeals when she’s not. Perhaps I’ve watched too many shows with Kugimiya in them, but this certainly was just ill-fitting.

I also can’t help but notice that most of the cast (5 of them in fact) including Kugimiya, all worked on the female leads in Shana. Though a couple of them I couldn’t make out at first.

  • Story

Like I said, there’s not really a plot as this is character driven, but even then I felt lost in the first episode. I had no idea where it was really going from there and frankly.. it didn’t present an interesting enough opening in my opinion to keep me hooked in to watch.

  • Animation/Art

Animation quality is decent. It’s not too bad, even during the fight scenes.
But I have absolutely no idea why some fansub group went and converted the resolution from 4:3 to 16:9. I’m not quite sure how they did it, but it made the fansub quality seem strange.

Some people are calling this show an embarrassment and some are saying even the extreme fanservice can’t save the show. So really… In short, this would be a decent watch if you like lots of ecchi scenes and can get over the seemingly lack of plot. Animation and seiyuu are both good enough to hold their own, but it’s really whether you mind the almost non-stop ecchi oppai scenes and tentacles etc stuff that follows as more girls are introduced. I’m not sure exactly how many characters there are in total.. but there were at least 6 girls already in just the first episode and there are way more to come. If you’re going to watch this, do watch the uncensored version that AT-X is broadcasting. The censored version is simply… even crappier than this. The random ways the censored version covers things up is very poorly done and will probably make it a more painful watch.

Oh. And can someone explain to me how their armour is meant to protect them at all? xDD Some of them seem to look more decorative rather than in anyway useful.

Having read some of the reviews from other bloggers/posts in forums, the show doesn’t appeal to me at all and I’m definitely dropping it. I’ll only be sticking with K-ON!, 07-Ghost and Asura Cryin’ for this season (the latter two will get a review sometime… maybe). Nanael looks very moe and rather cute in episode 4 though.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kairu Ishimaru permalink
    April 24, 2009 2:11 am

    Queen’s Blade doesnt equate to epic fail. It just lack something that some of us wouldnt like. But its a good anime somehow.

    • April 24, 2009 11:25 am

      I forgot to write it down, but yeah it isn’t exactly an epic fail. Personally I find that it fails, but I’ve seen much worse..

      I like the way you put it though.

  2. Captain Obvious permalink
    April 24, 2009 12:18 pm

    This is a fanservice anime. If you go into it looking for some deep plot or looking for a reason why they are wearing skimpy armor and you can’t figure it out then I recommend watching something not quite so “deep”.

    • April 24, 2009 1:48 pm

      I know it’s fanservice based but even some fanservice anime have some sort of plot no?
      Yeah and that was meant as a joke… but anyway.

  3. April 24, 2009 2:41 pm

    Nah, it’s just going for the “so bad it’s good” sort lol – the sort you watch with the brain switched off lol.

    That aside, my main complain is the waste of a good cast. I mean, really, getting Hirano and Kugimiya…just for this?

Leave a Reply

