Skip to content

My favourite Anime OP/EDs

April 22, 2009

I don’t know why, but I feel like making a list of my favourite OP/EDs out of the anime I’ve watched. I’m procrastinating on writing the review for Soul Eater and Code Geass… even though I kind of want to, just to finish it off. Anyway, here are my top few favourites (and I just realised that most of these are on my playlist) in no particular order.

Don’t say “LAZY” [K-ON! – ED]

This song has the rocky music tune, is catchy and has awesome animation to go with it. This is one of the best parts out of K-ON! asides from the moe slice-of-life stuff that goes on during the episode. Mio’s eyes are… wicked.

Masterpiece [To Aru Majutsu no Index – OP 2]

I’ve always liked Mami Kawada’s music, ever since Shana and this one is no exception. Masterpiece easily kills all of the other songs used in this series but the animation is only so-so. The quality is good, it’s just like what I’ve always said: “There’s too much Index and Touma.” Yes, they are the main *cough*Mikoto*cough* characters, but yeah. It’s good for Mikoto eating and Kuroko’s sexy teleporting.

Joint [Shakugan no Shana II – OP 1]

I did say above I liked Mami Kawada’s music because of Shana. And here is one of the reasons why. Shana is hawt and I’ve always quite liked the instrumental opening with the Reiji Maigo. I don’t really like the ending animation that much, asides from Shana in her Dorothy outfit. <3

Resonance [Soul Eater – OP 1]

One of Soul Eater’s strong points was in its music. Although the animation in the show isn’t top notch, there was one good ED (1st one I wanna be) that had really good animation. Paper Moon felt more like an ED rather than an OP, but it was still an enjoyable watch/listen. T.M.Revolution’s Resonance is a good combination of animation and I quite like the song too.

Paradise Lost [Ga-Rei Zero – OP]

I’ll be honest, I haven’t watched GRZ before so my knowledge of the show is very limited. I really like this song though, it’s my current ringtone, but watching it as the OP honestly doesn’t make it look that good. The OP animation is average in my opinion and it just feels awkward compared to how the real song should sound. So this one is more “favourite song” rather than “favourite OP in general”. The MV beats this OP anyday.

Time to round this post off. I can’t think of anymore right now but that’s my little bit of randomness for the day. ;D

5 Comments leave one →
  1. fangzhao permalink
    April 22, 2009 5:47 pm

    I didn’t particularly like any of these OPs/EDs, actually (the K-ON! ED is good, but it’s not my style)

    My personal favorites are from ef – a tale of memories/melodies and Sayonara, Zetsubou Sensei (SHAFT songs are awesome).

    • April 22, 2009 9:25 pm

      Aww.. really? Maybe it’s just my taste in music.
      And I haven’t really watched enough anime (I call ~50 small) to hear a wide enough range of OP and EDs so my list’s kind of limited.

  2. April 23, 2009 6:50 pm

    I like JOINT and masterpiece because i love Mami Kawada’s music xD
    and i would add PSI-missing (Index’s 1st OP) to the list :P

    I like K-ON!’s ED, too. x3 because i never thought it would be that rockish considering how MOE the anime is. :P

    • April 23, 2009 11:10 pm

      Yay, another Mami Kawada fan. :D
      I don’t mind PSI-missing as a song, it’s okayish but doesn’t beat Masterpiece in my opinion. And the OP animation sequence is so-so.

      And yeah! I definitely didn’t expect anything to that extent for K-ON!. I can’t wait till their performance at the cultural festival episode.

  3. April 24, 2009 2:38 pm

    Ga-Rei OP’s is definitely going to be one of my all time favs, and possibly K-ON’s ED as well. To aru’s is great, but I won’t say it’s a fav. Also, I’ll throw in both of Maria+Holic’s OP & ED.

Leave a Reply

