Skip to content

Code Geass – First Impressions

April 5, 2009

C.C

Sadly no, this isn’t a review on a 3rd season of Code Geass, but rather 1st season. I’ve put off watching this for too long, only because I’ve never had an interest in the mecha genre. But as my friend gave me the DVD for the 1st season.. I went ahead and gave it a go. I must be crazy or something, but over Saturday I went on a huge marathon and watched the whole first season of Code Geass. Now, I’m NOT a big fan of mecha anime but Code Geass is an exception to this and I’m quite impressed.

I really enjoyed the show surprisingly and I’ll be honest, it really reminded me of Death Note. It’s almost like a parallel universe, chess boards, mind games and all. Except of course we’re not killing off criminals using a notebook and our protagonist has a way cooler companion in the form of C.C, (who is now my favourite character from here along with Lelouch).

The series is set after Japan’s conquest by the Holy Britannian Empire on August 10, 2010, a.t.b. with their powerful new robot weapons, the Knightmare Frames, stripping Japan and its citizens of all rights and freedoms and renaming them Area 11. The titular Lelouch is an exiled Britannian prince, who vows to destroy his father, the Emperor, and Britannia, and gains the ability through the mysterious power of the Geass, becoming the leader of the resistance movement and the Black Knights to fulfill his two wishes: to seek revenge for his mother and to construct a world in which his beloved sister Nunnally can live happily.

^ From Code Geass’ wikipedia page.

Obviously I’m very late in getting into Code Geass, so I won’t be doing a review episode by episode (not like I really have done for all my shows) as there’s not much point to it so I won’t say much more here until probably when I’ve finished R2. I’ve started season 2 now and am 2 episodes into it and overall really like the whole “Order of the Black Knight” and even the giant robot battles. I highly recommend this if you haven’t watched it already, especially if you can’t find anything good to suit your tastes in this Spring’s anime list.

That also reminds me.. I’ll be converting my “anime list” page into a recommendation page, enlisting everything that I’ve watched that I’d recommend to watch. So watch this space, I’ll try to get it done before the end of the month if possible.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Karry permalink
    April 5, 2009 7:07 pm

    So…where are the impressions ? I sure dont see any impressions.

    • Systematic permalink
      April 5, 2009 9:53 pm

      Considering that he/she is only a casual blogger I would certainly say that’s enough for a short impression and anyway he/she said they would write more when they finished R2.

      props for picking up C.G even though you didnt like mecha. it gets even better with R2!
      Keep up the good work I enjoy reading your blog ayano.

  2. April 6, 2009 4:59 pm

    Oops, this is actually incomplete. *will never use Windows Live Writer again offline*
    I could have sworn I clicked save draft, but oh well. I’ll add the other stuff in with my R2 talk.

  3. April 13, 2009 8:19 am

    You and I are both late to the Code Geass party. I just finished season 1 myself. While I probably enjoy mecha more than you, I still was not ready to give this show a pass if it did not pan out.

    I can see why you like CC. She was an interesting character. Three girls are in some way vying for LeLouch, although CC seems to pull ahead at the end.

    I could not get into Deathnote, but have heard others make the comparison. I do not see it per se, but there are mind games in both.

    Well fellow latecomer, please check out my write up (with pics) that I just finished.

    http://fortresstakes.wordpress.com/2009/04/12/code-geass-lelouch-of-the-rebellion-2006-2007-season-1-25-episodes/

  4. April 15, 2009 9:12 pm

    I’m not that much a fan of mecha, so Code Geass was one of those “exceptions”. And yes, CG sure is interesting to say the least.
    While season2 suffered several issues with plot holes, I personally loved the way the story ended.

    • April 19, 2009 10:35 pm

      I think Gundam is still the benchmark for mecha? But I’ve never really got into any other mecha…
      Season 2 was great as well, not as brilliant as the first but still entertaining. I wish they ended a bit earlier though. (Only because I want Lulu to rule the world. XD)

      • Sam permalink
        July 25, 2009 11:13 am

        Well, technically he did rule the world, for a few months I think. Then he died, even though I think he lived, though I don’t want that argument to be added here since it seems a different argument was originally introduced, and I don’t think it’d be good to make a debate on whether or not Lulu lived. Anyway……

        I think my favorite character is……C.C., mainly because she is a major factor in the story, but also because I am, in a sense, jealous of her because of her being able to be immortal. I wouldn’t care if I was alone for eternity a she says, nor would I think it a curse. Though that’s just my opinion, and I only commented because I was bored and thought I should do it now instead of later.

  5. May 1, 2009 5:29 pm

    It’s kind of hard to do an episode by episode review on Code Geass, simply because there’s so much action going on with a lot of different characters. You’d have to really narrow your focus, and probably concentrate on a few characters, like CC, or Lelouch, or even Suzaku in order to pull it off. Nevertheless, Code Geass is a good series.

  6. Alan permalink
    October 2, 2009 10:39 am

    Couldn’t agree more on the death note similarity.

  7. April 18, 2011 11:19 pm

    i love anime and i love code geass

Leave a Reply

