Skip to content

My Spring Anime List and PVs

March 31, 2009

In addition to my last post earlier in the month on the Spring Anime season, some other shows have come to my attention as to which I’m considering to watch and hopefully blog. I’ll admit, I am very very picky to animation quality unless the series is so good that I can overlook it. Hence, I’ve skipped the anime that look badly animated and from the good ones chose only ones with decent storylines. These are the four anime for this season that I’ll probably be taking a look at and giving a go:

K-ON!

As I mentioned in my last post, this is a definite watch for me. It’ll air on the 3rd of April in Japan at 1:59AM, so it is a very late night show. From the PV, the art really reminds me of a combination between Lucky Star and Haruhi but of course, we have some of the same KyoAni staff working on it. The main character (one of guitar) may turn out to be my favourite. <3

Asura Cryin’

This is an anime adaptation from a light novel series. I don’t actually know too much about the storyline, except that it involves the main character being haunted by a girl – a childhood friend from his past. From the official website, it appears that there are some sort of mecha involved. But I liked the girl with the huge gun from the PV. Other than that, I’ll have to watch the first episode to decide how far I’ll follow this series.

Queen’s Blade: Rurou no Senshi

A competition to decide the next Queen. The strongest warrior will rule the country and expand it. The contestants need to be older than 12. They need not be human, intelligent or even of that country. The rules for the tournament: murder is allowed. Any weapon can be chosen.

From the little description, this show sounds really, really odd. The show definitely has a very strong seiyuu cast, with the likes of Aya Hirano, Rie Tanaka, Rie Kugimiya and Yuko Goto. Even with this, I can expect the possibility of being disappointed. After all, Akane-Iro ni Somaru Saka was in the same position and certainly failed for me halfway through. I’m hoping it won’t be the case here but who knows. I certainly like the art and some of the character design, though some are just plain weird. (Some girl has hands for a bra! O.O) And AT-X looks like they will be broadcasting this uncensored, which is odd as it’s usually reserved for DVD sales. So the series will be very ecchi, probably as close as you’ll get to actual hentai I’m guessing. The following PV is safe though, Youtube appears to have removed the oppai version.

07-Ghost

Anime adaptation of the manga of the same name by Yuki Amemiya and Yukino Ichihara.

Barsburg Empire’s Military Academy has always been known for training the elite with potential to become superb soldiers who won’t bring shame to the name of the empire. The students of the special program freely utilize an ability called “zaiphon” to fight… Everyone’s capabilities are different, and in many cases, reflect their nature.

However, not everything is what it seems, and nothing will be the same for Teito Klein after passing the last exam…

This show appears interesting enough, certainly is shounen. Their clothes however (after the main character escapes to the church) heavily reminds me of a certain Index-san’s sister outfit. O.o However, I think I’ll give this a go, but it definitely won’t be high priority unless it delivers something amazingly awesome in the first two episodes.

————–

This is all of course, if I have time in the next two months. I’m finding my school workload to be extremely heavy at the moment and wouldn’t be surprised if I at the very best only pick up one or two shows (or even none at all ;_;). I have more or less dropped Akikan and have no plans to carry on at the moment due to both poor animation and the many better anime there are to watch. Kurokami I may catch up on if I have the time to, but again… it may get pushed back in favour of K-ON! due to it not really living up to my expectations.

I will blog on the final of Soul Eater (episode 51) once the sub is out, having finally caught up to the series just as it finishes.

Also, I’m thinking of picking up Code Geass as I can get the DVDs off a friend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

