Skip to content

2009, I’m back.

February 3, 2009

Wow… I’ve certainly let my blog die down. If anyone actually still reads this, I have not died just been incredibly busy over my Summer holiday break overseas with a lot happening. It’s mainly been my involvement with selection into the Biology and Chemistry Olympiad training teams that have really caused me to not have time to blog anything at all, let alone catch up on my various shows. My final year at high school also began last week, which will also be another event that reduces my online time.

But enough of that. The Winter Anime season is well underway and to be honest, I find it rather disappointing that there weren’t that many good shows to pick up on. Only 5 shows in total grabbed my attention in some form.

Akikan!

Melon

Akikan (”Empty Can”) is the unlikely story of high school boy Kakeru Daichi, whose can of melon juice soda magically transforms into a human girl. More “akikan” girls begin appearing, each of them needing to be infused with carbon dioxide from kissing to survive.

Overview:

Well, I’d say the plot was somewhat unique and strange too but could be something interesting. It certainly screams out “ecchi” or fanservice for this type of anime. Watching episode 1 was okay, nothing too special nor anything appalling. This changes from episode 2, the art and animation quality drops like 3 notches and makes it an absolute fail. I’m continuing to watch it for now, but there isn’t really anything drawing me to the show. The male protagonist Kakeru is a complete pervert and acts ridiculously idiotic most of the time. Chances are, I’ll be dropping this soon.

Kurokami

In this world, there are three identical looking people in existence who split between them an energy-like force called “Terra.” This energy can be attributed to the amount of “Luck” or “Life Energy” that an individual possesses. There also exists beings who observe the human world, maintaining the balance of Terra, known as the “Coexistence Equilibrium.” These beings possess ability that surpass that of a normal human being and reside in hiding in places known as the “Pure Place” in tribes. They are called the Terra Guardians. This is a tale of battle that begins with a chance meeting between a human boy named Keita and a young Tera Guardian girl named Kuro.

Overview:

Wow. My first thought of the anime when I first read about it was “YES, finally something like Shana to watch!”. This was absolutely propaganda. The picture above gives the impression that it is made to be similar to SnS, but in fact gives little resemblance even though there are many parallels that can be drawn between the two shows. Kuro mainly does her fights using her fists and she’s a Mototsumitama. Perhaps I’m asking for too much when I want something more Shana based, but Kurokami is also a pretty good show which I will watch to the end. The Doppeliner system is also quite an interesting concept that the show uses.

Asu no Yoichi

This show was… boring. I’ll admit that I lost interest after a few minutes into the first episode; the whole “samurai bushi” from the rural life didn’t really grab my attention at all. The ecchi theme doesn’t spark any enlightenment and I’ve dropped the series at episode 1. There are just so many better shows to spend time on.

White Album and Rideback

Both Rideback and White Album have caught my attention, but I haven’t had enough time to start watching them yet. Rideback is mecha-orientated, which isn’t something I particularly enjoy. But these are the next two shows that I will most likely pick up, after I find some time and finish a couple of my other shows.

Right now I’m currently following these series:

  • To Aru Majutsu no Index (episode 16)
  • ToraDora! (episode 17)
  • Kurokami (episode 3)
  • Akikan! (episode 4)

And reading the following manga:

  • Detective Conan (Chapter 680)
  • To Aru Kagaku no Railgun (Chapter 9)
  • To Aru Majutsu no Index (Chapter 18)

I’ve also set up my MAL account again, username: Kagaminya. So it will be more than likely that I update my viewings there before I reach for my blog.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LEticia permalink
    March 30, 2009 1:50 pm

    all the good series are coming to an end.. could you recommend any, i just finished :
    ToraDora!
    skip beat
    Asu no Yoichi

    thanks :)

    • March 30, 2009 5:03 pm

      It really depends on what type of anime you’re into. Skip Beat I haven’t watched before but if you enjoyed ToraDora I’d recommend Shakugan no Shana if you haven’t already watched it. It’s pretty much the same deal as to the tsundere characters, but set in a more “supernatural” world. And there’s two seasons of it already, with a third rumored to be coming soon.

Leave a Reply

